Back to top

The MTN is led by principal investigator Sharon L. Hillier, PhD, of the University of Pittsburgh and Magee-Womens Research Institute (MWRI).

The operational structure of the MTN consists of three key organizational units: a Leadership and Operations Center (LOC), a Laboratory Center (LC) and a Statistical and Data Management Center (SDMC). Dr. Hillier directs the activities of the LOC,  with Kristine Torjesen, MD, of FHI 360, and Connie Celum, MD, MPH, of the University of Washington, leading key components.  Lisa Rohan, PhD, and John Mellors, MD, serve as principal investigators of the LC which includes specialized laboratories at MWRI (where Dr. Rohan is based) and the University of Pittsburgh (where Dr. Mellors is based) and at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Colorado. The SDMC, under the direction of SDMC principal investigator Elizabeth Brown, ScD, is housed within the Statistical Center for HIV/AIDS Research & Prevention (SCHARP) at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle.

The primary governance body of the MTN is the Steering Committee (SC) which is responsible for the overall scientific direction, development and implementation of policy, procedural decisions and resource allocation. The SC is supported by three committees – the Manuscript Review Committee (MRC), Study Monitoring Committee (SMC) and Network Evaluation Committee (NEC). In addition, two working groups – the Biomedical Science Working Group (BSWG) and Community Working Group (CWG) – ensure scientific quality, innovation and community perspectives are the hallmarks of every MTN study.

MTN studies are conducted through Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) at affiliated Clinical Research Sites. Successful implementation of the MTN research agenda is highly dependent upon CTU and CRS investigators and staff.

More information about the MTN’s governance, operational structure and working groups can be found in the MTN Manual of Operational Procedures.